Smart home and connected devices

Upgrading to Alexa+: check the cost, data and way back first

Your smart speaker is offering an upgrade to an AI-powered assistant, such as Amazon's Alexa+. Before you accept the invitation, take a calm look at three questions: what it costs once the free phase ends, which data the assistant uses, and whether you can return to the version you have now.

eu. infopoint · Created with AI assistance · Sources checked on

Smart speaker with a light ring and no logo on a kitchen worktop next to a fruit bowl in morning light
AI-generated image; not a real incident and not a real user interface.
For
Anyone with a smart speaker or smart display
Time needed
20 minutes
Difficulty
easy
You need
The provider's app, access to your customer account, a list of your subscriptions
Applies to
Europe (UK, IE, DE, AT, CH, FR, IT, ES); provider details as of July 2026

The key point first

  • Before switching, write down what the upgrade costs after the free phase and whether it depends on another subscription such as Prime.
  • In the app, decide whether and for how long voice recordings are kept, and protect voice purchases with a PIN.
  • Find out beforehand how you can return to the previous version.

What changes when your voice assistant gets AI?

A voice assistant usually starts after a wake word or a button press. Your speech is turned into text and the command is processed. According to Germany's Federal Office for Information Security (BSI), this often happens in the cloud rather than on the device.

With AI versions such as Alexa+, the main change is the conversation: Amazon says Alexa+ does not need the wake word repeated in every conversation. So the upgrade is more than a software update. It can bring new costs and new settings. The questions below also apply to other providers.

What does Alexa+ cost after the free phase?

In the UK, Amazon started Early Access to Alexa+ on 19 March 2026. This invitation-based first phase is free. Afterwards Amazon quotes £19.99 a month, while Alexa+ is to remain free for Prime members.

According to Amazon, you get access with a new eligible Echo device or by signing up with an eligible device you already own and waiting for an invitation. Amazon gives no end date for the free phase, so check the invitation and terms for when charges begin.

Alexa+ in Europe according to Amazon (information up to July 2026)
CountryEarly AccessPrice without Prime afterwardsWith Prime
United Kingdomsince 19 March 2026£19.99 a monthfree
Irelandnot on Amazon's list––
Germanysince 7 May 2026€22.99 a monthno extra cost
Austriaon Amazon's listnot statednot stated
Switzerlandnot on Amazon's list––
Francesince 26 May 2026€22.99 a monthincluded
Italysince 15 April 2026€22.99 a monthincluded
Spainsince 23 April 2026€22.99 a monthincluded

Tip: If you use Alexa+ through Prime, the upgrade is tied to that membership. If you might cancel Prime later, factor in the price without Prime now.

How to keep track of a free phase is covered in Check a free trial before you sign up. How to leave a subscription is explained in Cancel a subscription online.

What does the decision look like in everyday life?

Fictional example: Tom in Leeds uses the Echo on his kitchen worktop for the radio, cooking timers and the hallway light. He receives an invitation to Alexa+. Tom has Prime but may cancel it next year. He notes: free during Early Access, £19.99 a month later without Prime.

In the Alexa app he checks how long his voice recordings are kept and whether voice purchases can be protected with a PIN. He writes down his two routines and asks customer service how he would return to the previous Alexa. Only then does he accept.

Which data does the assistant use, and what can you change?

Amazon says the Alexa Privacy dashboard lets you review and manage your interactions with Alexa+ in one place, listen to what Alexa heard and change how long voice recordings are stored. In its German announcement Amazon adds that you can switch off the microphone and camera, and that a light shows when requests go to the Amazon cloud.

For smart speakers in general, the BSI recommends:

  • review stored data regularly and delete it where needed
  • allow critical voice commands and orders only after a PIN or password
  • set up voice profiles for each person in the household where possible
  • do not place the device by an open window if it controls a smart lock
  • run smart devices on a separate Wi-Fi network, apart from laptops and phones

The BSI also notes that for most providers there is no reliable evidence on encryption, server security or data handling. How to split your home network is explained in Check your home Wi-Fi router.

Can you go back to the previous version?

Amazon's announcements for the UK, Germany, France, Italy and Spain do not explain how to switch from Alexa+ back to the previous Alexa. That does not mean there is no way back, but you should know it before you switch.

  1. Write down routines, alarms, lists and connected smart home devices.
  2. Ask customer service whether you can switch back and what happens to your settings.
  3. In the first few days, test the commands you use most.

Also check which devices still work without a voice command, through an app or a switch. The basics are in Getting started with a smart home.

What rights do you have over your voice data?

In the EU, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) applies. Under Article 15 GDPR you can ask a company which data it holds about you. According to the EU's Your Europe portal, the company should reply within one month, and you are entitled to a free copy of your data in an accessible format.

The GDPR also provides a right to erasure, for example after you withdraw your consent. Often the quicker route is the provider's own privacy dashboard.

Voice data: which rules apply where
CountryLegal basisFirst step
EU countries (IE, DE, AT, FR, IT, ES)GDPRthe provider's privacy dashboard; otherwise an access request under Article 15 GDPR
SwitzerlandSwiss Federal Act on Data Protection, in force since 1 September 2023; the GDPR does not apply automaticallythe provider's privacy dashboard; guidance from the Swiss Federal Data Protection and Information Commissioner (EDÖB)
United KingdomUK data protection law, not the EU GDPRthe provider's privacy dashboard; otherwise a subject access request, which organisations usually have one month to answer, according to the ICO

According to the EDÖB, Swiss data protection law applies directly to AI-based data processing. People communicating with a language model have the right to know whether and to what extent they are dealing with a machine.

This overview is not legal advice for your individual case.

Common mistakes

  • Treating the free Early Access as the permanent price.
  • Cancelling Prime without remembering that Alexa+ may then cost £19.99 or €22.99 a month.
  • Leaving voice purchases unprotected although children or guests talk to the device.
  • Never opening the voice recording settings.
  • Switching without noting routines or knowing the way back.

Your checklist

The checkboxes are for your own reference. No entries are sent to us. To keep a copy, print the page or save it as a PDF using your browser menu.

Common questions

How much does Alexa+ cost in the UK?

During Early Access, which began in the UK on 19 March 2026, Alexa+ is free according to Amazon. Afterwards Amazon quotes £19.99 a month, and Prime members keep it free. In Germany, France, Italy and Spain the price without Prime is €22.99 a month. Check your invitation for when charges start.

Is Alexa+ available in Ireland or Switzerland?

Neither country appears on Amazon's Early Access list as updated on 21 July 2026, which names eight countries including the UK, Germany, Austria and France. If Alexa+ arrives, check the local terms; in Switzerland, Swiss data protection law applies rather than the GDPR automatically.

Can I switch from Alexa+ back to the old Alexa?

Amazon's European announcements do not describe a way back. Before switching, ask customer service whether a return is possible and what would happen to your routines and settings. Note the answer and the date before you accept the invitation, so you can refer to it later if something does not work as expected.

Sources and further information

Primary sources from public authorities, consumer organisations and providers. A source may be in another language; follow the guidance that applies to your service and where you live.

  1. Amazon UK: Alexa+ Early Access in the UKSource review date:
  2. Amazon: Alexa+ availability and pricingSource review date:
  3. BSI (Germany): Using smart speakers and voice assistants safely (in German)Source review date:
  4. EUR-Lex: Regulation (EU) 2016/679 (General Data Protection Regulation)Source review date:
  5. Amazon Germany: Alexa+ launch in Germany (in German)Source review date:
  6. EDÖB (Switzerland): AI and data protection (in German)Source review date:
  7. Your Europe (EU): Data protection and online privacySource review date:
  8. ICO (UK): Getting copies of your information (SAR)Source review date: